Born 10 August 1957, Magnitogorsk, USSR
Married, 2 children

Education, degrees and awards

High school examination in Magnitogorsk, advanced physical-mathematical school #53, 1972

Master of science examination in Theoretical Physics at Department of Physics, Ural State University, Sverdlovsk, 1977, excellent grade (Oscillations of inhomogeneous electron plasma in WKB approximation). Awarded the Distinguished M. Sc. Diploma

PhD in Solid State Physics at  Institute of Metal Physics (Sverdlovsk), 1980, supervisor Prof. Sergey V. Vonsovsky (Instabilities of electron energy spectrum and elementary excitations in s-d exchange and polar models of a crystal)

DSc in Solid State Physics, 1985, Institute of Metal Physics (Strong electron correlations in transition metals, their alloys and compounds)

Professorship in Solid State Physics and in Mathematical Physics in Ural State University, 1992; in Theoretical Physics in Radbound University of Nijmegen 2004

Lenin Komsomol Prize (State Prize for young scientists of the USSR), 1988, for Quantitative theory of electronic, magnetic and optical properties of transition metals, their alloys and compounds

Radboud Science Award, 2010

Knight of the Order of the Netherlands Lion, 2011

Honorary Doctor of Uppsala University, 2012

Spinoza Prize (highest scientific award in the Netherlands), 2013

Advanced Grant of European Research Council, 2013

Hamburg Prize for Theoretical Physics, 2016

Elected member of Academia Europaea, 2013

Elected member of Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences, 2014

Elected member of Royal Society of Sciences at Uppsala, 2015

Outstanding Referee for the journals of the American Physical Society, 2012

Distinguished Referee for the Europhysics Letters, 2013

Plenary speaker at International Congress on Mathematical Physics, 2015

Working experience

Employment: 1977-2003: young researcher, researcher, senior researcher, leading researcher, chief researcher, head of the Quantum Theory of Metals Group in Institute of Metal Physics, Ekaterinburg (former Sverdlovsk), Russia; 1992 - 2001: professor of Ural State University, Ekaterinburg; 2002-2004: visiting professor, Theoretical Magnetism Group, Uppsala University, Sweden

Present position: professor, head of the group of Theory of Condensed Matter, Radboud University of Nijmegen, The Netherlands

Visiting positions (for one-three months): Max-Planck-Institute for Solid State Research, Stuttgart (1990, 1996); Max-Planck-Institute for Physics of Complex Systems, Dresden (1996, 1998); Imperial College, London (1991); Ames National Laboratory, Ames, Iowa (1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001); University of Nijmegen (2000, 2001); Uppsala University (2000); University of Hamburg (2011).

Professional service

Referee: Science, Nature, Nature Materials, Nature Physics, Nature Nanotechnology, Nature Communications, PNAS, Reviews of Modern Physics, Physical Review Letters, Physical Review A,B, Nuclear Physics B, Applied Physics Letters, Journal of Applied Physics, Europhysics Letters, Accounts of Chemical Research, Advanced Materials, Materials Today, Acta Materialia, Nanoscale, Journal of American Chemical Society, Nano Letters, ACS Nano, Journal of Physical Chemistry, Solid State Communications, Dalton, Langmuir, Journal of Chemical Physics, New Journal of Physics, Nanotechnology, Journal of Physics: Condensed Matter, Journal of Physics A, European Physical Journal B, Chemical Physics Letters, International Journal of Quantum Chemistry, Physics Letters A, Physica Status Solidi, Physica Scripta, JETP Letters, JETP and other journals

Scientific Secretary of Joint Research Council for Physical and Technical Sciences, Ural Division of Russian Academy of Sciences, 1992-1999

Member of Program Board of Lorentz Center (Leiden), 2007-2012

Divisional Associate Editor of Physical Review Letters, from 2014

Member of Advisory Editorial Board of Advanced Materials Interfaces, from 2013

Member of Executive Editorial Board of Journal of Physics: Condensed Matter, from 2012

Member of Advisory Editorial Board of Journal of Physics: Condensed Matter, 2009-2011

Organizer of the workshop Computational Approaches to Physics of Strongly Correlated Systems (COMPEC), Dresden, May 1998

Member of the Program Committee of the European and Asian Symposium Trends in Magnetism (EASTMAG),  Ekaterinburg, February 2001

Chairman of the Program Committee of the Conference on the Electronic Structure and Magnetism of Strongly Correlated Systems, Miass (Russia), March 2001

Organizer of the Focus Week Computational Approaches to Nonlinear Phenomena in Solids, Dresden, September 2001

Member of the Scientific Advisory Committee of the Conference on the Electronic Structure and Computational Magnetism, Washington DC, July 2002

Organizer of the workshop Dynamics in Magnetic Materials, Uppsala, November 2003

Organizer of the Landelijk Seminarium Gecondenseerde Materie, Nijmegen, November 2004

Organizer of the workshop Electronic structure of correlated materials, Hamburg, May 2005

Chairman of the Program Committee of KNAW Conference Multiscale Modelling: Electrons, Molecules and (Bio) Materials, Amsterdam, April 2006

Organizer of the workshop Graphene, Leiden, February 2007

Organizer of the workshop Graphene, Benasque, July 2009

Organizer of the workshop New Computational Methods in Quantum Many-Body Theory, Leiden, August 2009

Co-Chairman of the workshop Computational Approaches to Iron and Iron-Based Alloys, Ekaterinburg, October 2009

Organizer of the CECAM workshop Computational Physics and Chemistry of Graphene, Lausanne, October 2009

Co-Chairman of the Program Committee of Graphene Week 2012, Delft, June 2012

Organizer of the CECAM workshop Graphene: From Band Structure to Many-Body Physics, Bremen, September 2012

Organizer of the CECAM workshop Novel 2D Materials: Tuning Electronic Properties on the Atomic Scale, Bremen, June 2013

Organizer of the CECAM workshop Graphene's Strain Engineering, Zurich, July 2014

Guest Editor of the special issue Two-dimensional Materials: Electronic Structure and Many-Body Effects, Ann. Phys. (Berlin), October 2014

Organizer of the workshop Novel Quantum Materials and Systems, Leiden, September 2015

Co-Chairman of the conference Ab-initio Based Modeling of Advanced Materials, Ekaterinburg, September 2016